Foundation Board

In ac­cor­dance with the Foun­da­tion‘s statute, the foun­da­tion board is re­spon­si­ble for de­cid­ing on all mat­ters which are in­her­ent­ly or par­tic­u­lar­ly sig­nif­i­cant to the Foun­da­tion. It over­sees the Foun­da­tion with re­gard to le­gal­i­ty, effectiveness and ef­fi­cien­cy.

The foun­da­tion board is com­prised of fif­teen mem­bers.


Stiftungsrat Dr. An­dre­as Gör­gen

Dr. An­dre­as Gör­gen



Mem­bers of the foun­da­tion board

Rep­re­sent­ing the Ger­man fed­er­al gov­ern­ment

Ma­ria Be­ring

Head of Directorate K 4 – Culture of Remembrance

Dr. An­dre­as Gör­gen

Min­is­te­ri­al Di­rec­tor in the Fed­er­al Gov­ern­ment Com­mis­sion­er for Cul­ture and the Me­dia

Eva-Ma­ria Mey­er

Head of sec­tion, Fed­er­al Min­istry of Fi­nance

Ralf Bes­te

Fed­er­al For­eign Of­fice

Rep­re­sent­ing the Län­der of the Fed­er­al Re­pub­lic of Ger­many

Hans Hein­rich Beth­ge

Di­rec­tor of the Sen­ate, Free and Hanseat­ic City of Ham­burg, Min­istry of cul­ture and me­dia

Claus Pe­ter Boß­mann

De­part­ment head, State Chan­cellery and Min­istry of Cul­ture of Sax­ony-An­halt

Co­rin­na Fi­scher

De­part­ment head, Min­istry for Sci­ence and Cul­ture of Low­er Sax­ony

Mar­kus Fran­ke

Head of sec­tion, Sax­on State Min­istry for Sci­ence, Cul­ture and Tourism

Christina Halwas

Head of Unit, Deputy Head of Department, Thuringian State Chan­cellery

An­ge­li­ka Kaus

Head of sec­tion, Bavar­i­an State Min­istry for Sci­ence and Art

Hel­ge Reh­ders

De­part­ment head, Sen­ate De­part­ment for Cul­ture and Eu­rope Berlin

Eric Seng

Head of sec­tion, Hes­sian Min­istry for Sci­ence and Art

Rep­re­sent­ing the na­tion­al as­so­ci­a­tions of lo­cal au­thor­i­ties

Jörg Freese

Ger­man As­so­ci­a­tion of Ru­ral Dis­tricts

Daniela Schneckenburger

As­so­ci­a­tion of Ger­man Cities

Uwe Lübking

Ger­man As­so­ci­a­tion of Cities and Com­mu­ni­ties